This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Another "which CPU for home" query

I've been running UTM on a fanless J1900-based minipc for just over 5 years.   However, the box has recently died; time for a replacement.

I've read various posts spanning a number of years & the recurring suggestion seems to be higher clockspeed is better.

Just to update for more-moderb times, but looking at budget options, is there potentially much difference between (for example):

• Celeron J1900 (Quad core 2M Cache, 2.0  GHz, up to 2.42GHz)
  • Celeron N2920 (Quad core 2M Cache, 1.86 GHz, up To 2.0GHz)
  • Celeron J4125 (Quad core 4M Cache, 2.00 GHz, up to 2.70 GHz)
  • Celeron 3215U (Dual core 2M Cache, 1.70 GHz)
  • Core i3-4005U (Dual core 3M Cache, 1.70 GHz)
  • Pentium 4405U (Dual core 2M Cache, 2.10 ghz)

The dead J1900 had 8GB DRAM, although as home version is limited to 6GB usable,  would 4GB potentially be viable?

Historical PRTG graphing indicates:

• Was generally operating with approx. 600-800MB of memory free
  • Running between 10-15% CPU usage.

Although, maybe it was just putting the available RAM to use because it could? If scrimping on DRAM would hamper it from the start, then not a good saving!

Currently on a 38Mbps internet connection (no immediate plans to increase, but it could happen);  was running firewall/NAT/IPS/URL filter/WIFI/shaping/most services apart from VPN.    I'm sure I'd tried the multi-core SNORT command, and could see approx 25Mbps peak.   Also have a AP50,  although I guess support for that will be dropped at some point.

Sure, I can compare passmark etc,  but any thoughts/suggestions/gotchas on the above CPU/RAM or alternatives?
I'm wavering between J4125 & 4405U, but I'm really not sure.

As mentioned, the J1900 was fine whilst it was alive.

Thanks!

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hi and welcome to the UTM Community!