Sophos Community: Staff Spotlight - Hubert Bello

In our staff spotlights, we get up close and personal with our amazing Sophos team members.

Up next is Hubert Bello, Technical Support Engineer – L1-3 and FY23 Sophos Team 10 Member. 

Let's Talk Career 

1. Can you tell us about your role at Sophos? 
As an L1 Technical Support Engineer, I assist customers in resolving their technical issues through phone, email, or remote sessions. An important part of my role is ensuring the customer gets the best support experience possible. 

2. How did you get to the role you're in now? 
Before joining Sophos, I worked as an IT Support Engineer in a BPO company for over 13 years. Unfortunately, our company was one of many that suffered during the pandemic, so I had to look for new opportunities. When an opportunity opened at Sophos, I jumped right to it, and here I am today.

3. What inspired you to get into IT and security? 
I’ve always been fascinated by IT people and wondered how they did what they did. This motivated me to study for a BS in Computer Engineering in college and take a role within the IT industry after graduation. This is where I developed my skills and learned to appreciate cybersecurity. 

4. What do you enjoy most about your role? 
Helping customers resolve their issues. In some other ways, I’m a customer myself, so I totally empathize with their feelings. 

5. What's something you've done during your time in the organization that you're proud of? 
Besides being part of Sophos Support Team 10 for FY23 and receiving APAC Global Support Services Recognition as a “True Star Awardee,” I feel proud whenever I can help my fellow engineers resolve their challenging cases. 

6. Describe a typical day in your Sophos life. 
This is what my day usually looks like: 

• Checking emails  
  • Prioritizing tasks according to severity  
  • Analyzing cases and logs 
  • Replying to customers with the analysis result  
  • Replicating issues in a test environment