This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Failed to install Sophos from console

Hi,

I'm new with sophos console I hope you can help me with this:

- I have several machines joined to my domain, those were imported from the Active Directory and are listed on the no assigned group. 

- I've installed Sophos from the console but some of PCs failed the installation showing this code 0000002e and refering to this guide "29287 - Deployment errors are displayed in the console when protecting endpoint computers"

- I have ensured that the PC's firewall is down and can succesfully reach the ping from the server and viceversa.

- The PCs are running windows 7 and I can reach my \\<servername>\SophosUpdate\ 

- Already did a ipconfig /registerdns but nothing seems to work.

Do you have any idea of what is wrong or what I'm missing?

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hello Marco Torres,

what is the message text that accompanies the error? Did you check all the items listed in 29287?
    Was the task created (please see also How does the 'Protect computers wizard' perform an installation)? As setup.exe then calls the Windows Installer service another install in progress might cause Protect to fail - occasionally there are machines where an (extra) msiexec.exe is running but never finishes.

Christian

• This is the whole message error:

from 29287 i've checked:

1. The computer is switched on and connected to the network.

Is correct, I can succesfully ping the PC from the server and viceversa (by name and by IP) but now i've realized it looks that the server is not requesting ICMP to the actual name of the PC. 

C:\Users\marco.torres>ping 10.30.22.39

Haciendo ping a 10.30.22.39 con 32 bytes de datos:
    Respuesta desde 10.30.22.39: bytes=32 tiempo=3ms TTL=126
    Respuesta desde 10.30.22.39: bytes=32 tiempo=1ms TTL=126