This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

email notifications

I'm new to this product.  I'm running on an ubuntu 14.04 dekstop.

How do I get email notifications?  I have tried to configure them to use my googlemail smtp account (smtp,gmail.com:465) but I get no emails.  I also get no desktop notifications.  All the options in "the Alerts Configuration" Gui page are ticked and set.

Is there any way to get alerts sent to my email address, or to the desktop, or even to a file?

:1020941

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Without some form of auotmated alert the free version isn't really going to help users much.  I don't know if the 'premium' one is any better.

Please somebody - there must be a way to get told if a virus is detected.

I'm on an ubuntu 14.04 desktop.  I do not have a home email server.

:1020948
  • Hi,

Have a look at the /opt/sophos-av/log/smtp.log* files - errors sending mail should be logged there.  Gmail could be a problem - they apparently accept only SSL or STARTTLS on their smtp-servers and I couldn't find a way to configure Sophos to use encryption while sending the notifications.

best regards

Thomas

:1020951
  • Thanks.  The log just gives me a socket error.  I don't know enough to work out a solution, and Sophos don't seem to want to help free users make it work.

So, Sophos,  how do I get some, any, form of notificaton?

:1020952
  • Hi Pastim, 

can you please try setting alerts/notifications using ./savconfig in /opt/sophos-av/bin rather than using the UI?

you can check existing savconfig settings with ./savconfig -v --all or ./savconfig -v --advanced on the command line 

Here below is a link to the SAV for Linux config guide withthe relevant sections as well as some KBAs on the subject: 

https://www.sophos.com/en-us/medialibrary/PDFs/documentation/savl_9_cgeng.pdf?la=en

14.2 Configuring command line alerts.