This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

How to block inbound network traffic from TOR exit nodes?

One of the recommendations in Steve Gibson's Security Now podcast Ep 731 to protect against the Sodinobiki ransomware is to block inbound network traffic from TOR exit nodes.

Security Now 731 Notes

How can I do this Sophos UTM? Have seen some old discussions here, but nothing definitive or recent.

Thanks, James.

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hi

I've also been watching 'Security Now!' for many years and after watching that programme, I used 'Application Control' to block all TOR activity from traversing any network boundaries (I don't use TOR); see below image:

I've been running UTM (with https inspection enabled) for over 3 years, but that was the first time that I'd tried the 'Application Control' feature (thus the Facebook entry to test and familiarise myself with the feature; that one certainly seems to work very well).

Kind regards,

Briain (UTM Home user)

• Thanks Briain.

I thought about using Application Control, but I don't think it will work. Correct me if I'm wrong, but that will stop a user running the TOR browser. However ransomware is not using the TOR browser, but communicating using the TOR network.

So this will not block traffic from a TOR exit node to the malware, will it?

Thanks again.

• Hi

Having just thought more carefully about it, I suspect that you might indeed be correct, but I cannot think of any other way to practically do this and as you'll see from the below, I have [many] more questions than I do answers.