This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Sophos Home UTM Question

Hi, somewhat of a noob here (only been working in IT for about 5 months). Looking to setup a Sophos UTM home unit with an old laptop that only has one ethernet NIC. Since the requirements state "two or more PCIe 2.0 Ethernet network interface cards" are necessary, can I add one of those USB-to-ethernet NICs? Or, will the UTM not even detect it? Thanks in advance.

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hello  ,

Thank you for reaching out to the community, it may or may not work as the installation of 3rd party software/hardware, including drivers, is unsupported with the UTM and very limited. 

Thanks & Regards,

Vivek Jagad | Team Lead, Global Support & Services 

Log a Support Case | Sophos Service Guide
    Best Practices – Support Case

Sophos Community | Product Documentation | Sophos Techvids | SMS
    If a post solves your question please use the 'Verify Answer' button.

• I have a aukey CB-C71 usb C hub. In addition to the type A ports is a realtek ethernet port.

dmesg output

Interfaces:hardware

So appears there's support for 815x usb nics.

Your other option is to use a single cable but assign wan to a vlan interface. You will need to use a managed switch to break out the single cable to your lan and wan connections. You will also lose 50% of your gigabit bandwidth. Not a concern if your isp is slower than 500 mbps.

This was tested on utm 9.711, so should work on newer versions too.

Edit.  I also have a rtl8156b based nic (realtek 2.5gbit) usb c. Even with the most current update 9.714, it's not recognized.  So stick to the 8153 versions.