I am not an expert on the Sophos UTM but I know enough to be dangerous.
Recently, under Remote Access > SSL > Settings, we made a change to the port being used which required every employee using the VPN to download a new config/profile on every device they use. On Windows, it's an easy installation, but not so straightforward on iOS devices (and sometimes MacBooks if the end-user isn't really familiar with VPN's)
I didn't realize that a change to that port number would cause a new config (because I'm ignorant and in a hurry), but I understand now why it would.
I need to allow multiple user connections concurrently. For example, our Software Dev team (most of whom work remotely) runs a Macbook, with a Windows VM on it. Both "devices" need to connect to the VPN.
If I change that one setting that allows multiple concurrent sessions under Remote Access > SSL > Settings Tab (there is a check box at the bottom) will that also require that all users download/install a new profile?
I was hoping that a global setting like that would NOT affect individual profiles.
But I've been wrong before (obviously).
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you for contacting the Sophos Community!
When enabling or disabling Duplicate CN is NOT necessary for users to re-download the Config File.
When modifying something in the Settings >>…
Hey Ron - welcome to the UTM Community!
Like Emmanuel said - you're safe.
To get an idea of what's in the config file, look at one on a Windows box in C:\Program Files (x86)\Sophos\Sophos SSL VPN Client\config. You'll see that an option for the users would be to change the port in the config file on their laptop.
Cheers - Bob