This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Remotely configure Sophos SG 135w over the Internet (Webadmin)

Hi everyone. I am new to dealing with these appliances and I need my boss (who is in another country) to remotely configure the device. So, at the moment he has to be connecting to my laptop using TeamViewer or AnyDesk in order to access Webadmin through my laptop. Is there a way for him to access Webadmin and configure the device without connecting through my pc. What I did was connect an ethernet cable from a router LAN port to the WAN port (eth1/WAN) of the sophos. Also, a cable connecting my laptop's Lan port to the Lan port (eth0/LAN) on the sophos. The device is on UTM 9.6 firmware.

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Hello Andre,

Is this a new installation? I strongly recommend updating to 9.713 as first step.

You need to have the ip network of the router, your eth1/WAN should have an IP from this transfer net to reach the internet.

Then you define the IP of the router as gateway for your WAN uplink. This becomes your connection to the internet.

The you could open WebAdmin portal to this public interface, if you put "InternetV4" into the list of allowed neworks at "WebAdmin".

Then he can access the WAN port, if your router has a port-forwarding rule to the IP of the eth1/WAN interface.

Normally this is called something like an "exposed host".

But without having any infos about your details, I can't help you further.

Mit freundlichem Gruß, best regards from Germany,

Philipp Rusch

New Vision GmbH, Germany
    Sophos Silver-Partner

If a post solves your question please use the 'Verify Answer' button.

• Thank you for replying. And yes, I reimaged the device. Before, it was running 9.7, but he told me to install 9.6. I will pass on this information and see if we can it up and running soon.

Reply Children