This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

How to...

For a while now I have been scouring the interwebs for information on the best ways to configure various features on the UTM, but the majority of what I found is either very old or has conflicting information/suggestions.
Current "How To" or "Step-By-Step" documents for the UTM may or may not exist, but if they do, they are not easy to find.
There are some documents related to the XG platform, but I don't really want to go down that path if I don't have to. The logic used in the UTM suits me better.

The last time that I built and configured a UTM from scratch was a very long time ago.
How my current UTM is configured now seems to work fine, but my memory of of exactly what I did and why I did it definitely eludes me.
I am no expert when it comes to this UTM, but I am reasonably familiar with it, as I have been using this platform since Astaro v3.

I am currently in the process of doing a clean install and configuration and I would like to incorporate the current best practices for my new home environment.
That environment basically revolves around a 2019 Server DC and Exchange 2019 mail server. There are a few workstations and laptops and the intent is to have email access from our phones and the web. There is also a local web server.
I have 4 VLANS configured... LAN,WAN,DMZ and VOIP. The UTM also has a 5th NIC installed, but it's not assigned at this time.

Over the years Bob (@BAlfson) has written numerous "guides", which have definitely been helpful, but I am quite surprised that there are not any (that I could find) recognized documents for some of the more basic functions that might be used in a firewall.

There is a specific area on this forum for such documents (Recommended Reads) but it does not contain basic things like:

• DNS configuration with AD