Questions about the new DPI Engine.

First of all, I'm just a home user, so I feel like I shouldn't be complaining that much in here, or even making this post. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

---

First Question:

On v18 It has introduced the brand new DPI Engine, which as said by , is a:

"Single high-performance streaming DPI engine with proxyless scanning of all traffic for AV, IPS, and web threats as well as providing Application Control and SSL Inspection."

The problem is in  - "Single high-performance streaming DPI engine with proxyless scanning of all traffic for AV", The AV is the problem.

(I'm not a professional, so If there's mistakes I'm sorry, also, please tell me if there is.)

While on v17.5, also on v18, If you use the Legacy Web Proxy, the service "avd" would be used as AV.

In my understatement, the new DPI Engine which uses Snort as It service, would also use it for AV, but, but while using the DPI Engine you can see the "avd" service being spawned, and used by XG for AV scanning.

This is not a issue, well I'm not a Sophos Dev, so in my opinion this is just weird, again, It's not a issue.

Playing on my Home setup, the main noticeable difference between using Web Proxy and the DPI Engine (While using HTTP(s) scan.) Is throughput, the DPI Engine is much faster than the Web Proxy.

Now the "issue"; It's CPS, both Web Proxy and "Xstream SSL Inspection" can handle the same amount of CPS with the AV, which in my setup is 750~ (Wrong, check Edits.). So the main "issue" here is the AV.

CPS = Connections per Second, here it's just HTTPS.

Edit: I've shouldn't have done this testing at midnight, I has way too sleepy for this, The numbers on the DPI Engine is correct, but on Web Proxy is slower than I wrote before, now It makes more sense.

Edit: Also, good job for the Sophos Devs, the difference between the Legacy Web Proxy and the new DPI Engine is impressive.