Is this possible? New VOIP phones and new WAN, new VLANS

I'm not an expert with vlans so thx for any advice. We are getting voip phones to replace traditional phones, and a new secondary WAN (WAN2) for it, along with upgrading from XG105 to XG210 rev 3. We have 35 users now, and the XG105 is pretty overloaded anyways so the upgrade to 210 should be nice.

Problem is, it's not as straight forward as just plugging the phones into a specific switch port range because they are all over the place, and computers will connect into back of phones too.

We want to do this below, any known limitations in XG?

1. Phones will need to be on a new vlan, say 30. So I believe I should hardcode vlan 30 into each phone?

2. Computers (to be plugged into the back of the phones gigabit ports) will need another vlan, say 20 or leave on 1? How do ensure that the computers get onto vlan 20 or 1? I was thinking maybe they will receive it automatically if it's the native vlan on that XG port? But that begs the question, how would I then make a 3rd vlan for say, accounting computers and make those computers get vlan 40?

3. XG should route vlan 20 - voice, over WAN 2, and all other traffic over WAN 1. Is this possible using the tagged vlans mentioned above?

• Hi,

what you are asking about is possible, but will depend on whether the phones can act as managed switches to tag the PC port. 

Your setup will depend on the type of switch you are using, is it managed with VLAN capabilities?

Ian

• In reply to rfcat_vk:

Hey Ian, thanks a lot for your reply.

The phone vendor says the phones will have the feature on the switch port yes, and the switches are fully managed, with VLAN including 802.1q. They also have a feature called Voice VLAN which I think is a Cisco term, but I'm not entirely sure Sophos can do that, so I plan to stick to normal 802.1q.

I'll post results this week

• In reply to apalm123:

Hi,