Good resources for home users?

I have been using UTM Home for about five years so far. I am very pleased with the rich feature set, and am quite familiar with where everything hides. It took a while, but I can zip around pretty quickly in UTM to create rules, hosts, services, and other objects.

I also have had an XG box running in standby for a few months, and have been trying to mirror my UTM setup, while also attempting to leverage the XG paradigm of policies to reduce the number of FW rules I need. I would like to avoid copying UTM rules 1:1 into XG, where possible.

One area I think I can get some help from XG, is in gaming. My son plays games using GeForce Now (streaming, mostly using EC2) on our Nvidia Shield. My GF uses her Xbox, and I play games on my PC. Anyone who has had to get games working with a real (non-uPNP) firewall knows that games don't make this easy for us. Firewall rules that allow traffic on ports 10000:65535 to any of 16 /10 subnets in the EC2 blocks are a little clunky, and when a game starts sending voice chat to a new IP, or uses a new, larger range or ports, well... you get the idea.

I am looking for a resource for how to create smarter rules for gaming, and eliminate the whitelisted netblocks, massive service ranges, etc. To create the rules I have in mind, I would take the application report output filtered to the ip.addr for a given game device over a 24 or 48 hour period and compile the application categories related to gaming. From this, I would create a group that could later be used to allow all services to any IP as long as they are those applications.

Is this possible/practical? Where can I look for how-to info that will help me in my quest?

In hindsight, this request isn't for home-users only...

TIA!

• Hi  

In the XG firewall, you may create rule-based on FQDN, Source IP, Destination IP or defining specific service/ports and apply content filtering.