Multiple port Destination/Host Network: is it possible?

Hello everyone. I'm new to the Sophos Firewall structure but there is something really simple that it's making me scratch my head.

This is my cenario: there are 2 internet providers on Port2 and Port3 respectively, mainly used for failover purposes (when one is down the other must take place), and both have dynamic IP addresses.

When I set up a business rule to allow an user to access an internal server, I must choose a Destination/Host and it's usually chosen a single interface Port and, therefore, only a single internet provider is used to make this connection to the internal server.

However, if the main internet provider fails, the user accessing from the outside will lose it's connection, since he will always connect on that specific port (usually behind a Dynamic DNS). And since that I can't use the same Dynamic DNS for both providers..?

Now my question: is there a way to make both ports configured so it will always be available to the outside users independently if internet provider #1 or #2 is active? The only way I thought it could be done is cloning all business rules and setting a different Port on each, but this seems... wrong... :(

What's your advice on this? Or I should rethink the way my users connects to the internal servers?

Thanks a lot!

• Hi Mate,

You made the correct configuration to clone the business rule you have. The hierarchy will determine who's public ip is the primary. The priority or the first to read is on the TOP.

Warm Regards, 

• Hi Mate,

You made the correct configuration to clone the business rule you have. The hierarchy will determine who's public ip is the primary. The priority or the first to read is on the TOP.

• In reply to Deo Angelo Lim:

Thanks for the reply Deo. But this is really the only way? I can't believe I can configure a IP list, a IP range but not 2 ports. :/

• Hello,