System "heaviness"

Hi Guys

i am currently using 2 xg firewall - both are virtual machines on esxi hosts.

both vm have 2 cpu and 4gb of ram.

i have a lot of experience working with firewall

(forigates, checkpoints, pfsense, etc)

my recent migration to xg is successful but the most "noticeable" difference i can point is:

the general heaviness, sluggishness and overall slowness of the system.

am i not givving the VM's enough resources?

or is the system heavy by design?

• What do you mean with slowness? 

The GUI? 

• In reply to LuCar Toni:

Hi

yes, exactly. the GUI is sluggish and heavy at least for me 

• In reply to Avi Bar Ilan:

Have you tried bumping up the resources of the VM, maybe shut one firewall off and bump the other up to see if this increases the GUI speed just as a test to narrow down if it is hardware?  Also is your ESXi using platter or SSD, I know the hardware versions of the XG utilize SSD which can greatly increase performance.

Aside from hardware what security aspects are you using?  IPS, Web Content?  HTTP and or HTTPS scanning?  Do you have all the IPS aspects enabled, are there some you can disable given the systems you are protecting?  

• In reply to Dane Seelen:

Hi,

what version of XG are you running some of the later versions have improved throughput. Also how much ram is the XG using and how full are your disks specifically the swap space?

Ian

• In reply to rfcat_vk:

It depends on the Operation, you currently use.

If you browser through the GUI, it should be fast.

If you change for example a firewall policy, it could be "slow" in terms of the XG has to rerun all Policies etc. 

• In reply to LuCar Toni:

Hi,

the XG GUI is slow compared to say the UTM.

I have found my XG GUI improves with a restart after being up for 13 days. As LuCar advised inter GUI moves to review settings is relatively quick. 

With VMs have you locked memory and CPU cycles to the XG exclusively?