This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Installing Sophos Web WS500 in High Availability (HA)

Hello,

My company just bought two(2) Sophos WS500 web appliances to install on the network as a proxy server and wants it to be installed on high availability (HA) mode ie if one goes down, the other will kick in. This is my first time of touching a Sophos web appliance.

Please, can someone assist me with a complete video tutorial or documentation on how to install with the license.

I really need this help as i need to install before end of next week.

Thanks alot

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Hi David.

There are considerations depending on your deployment mode.  Here is a link to my kb on deployment modes..   Have a look at the .pac file section.. all of the links are there. 

if you wish to have redundancy between the VIP and the appliance simply make 3 entries and have them fail over in order or round robin them.   (each appliance will ALWAYS accept a proxy request made directly to it, just ensure the port is 8080)  This way even if your management appliance goes down the pac file will fail over to each appliance directly. 

this of course assumes your deployed in explicit mode, if you wish to deploy in transparent mode then just configure your redirection device to point traffic to where ever you like.  the recommend load balancing option is to use a cisco WCCP device. 

https://community.sophos.com/kb/en-us/126692

I do not believe there is a "video" for this as of yet.  Unfortunately the .pac file is not something support can help you do.. however you always have the option to engage pro services who can create the .pac file and address any deployment consideration.  There is usually some PS time allotted with every sale.. Just call your Account manager and they can get the ball rolling for you. 

cheers

• Hello Team,