This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Localhost unable to browse remote VPN client

Hello,

I'm a relative newbie with regards to VPN/Sophos UTM configuration so everyone's help would be appreciated.

I have a remote NAS configured to connect via PPTP to our Sophos UTM device. It is successfully connected, and is assigned an IP address from the VPN pool.

I am able to ping the assigned IP address from a workstation within the local network. 

However, when I attempt to open the web management interface of the device, or browse to the share, I am unable to do so, and I see the following entry in the firewall log-

2017:09:26-11:04:26 boraamfw1 ulogd[4633]: id="2001" severity="info" sys="SecureNet" sub="packetfilter" name="Packet dropped" action="drop" fwrule="60001" initf="eth0" srcmac="00:25:b3:27:84:50" dstmac="00:1a:8c:46:56:40" srcip="192.168.1.128" dstip="10.242.1.1" proto="6" length="52" tos="0x00" prec="0x00" ttl="128" srcport="54888" dstport="80" tcpflags="SYN"

I have attempted to temporarily allow all traffic through the firewall by creating a "Any-Any-Any" rule, however this does not appear to effect the situation, as the packets are still shown as being dropped in the log.

PPTP connection tracking helper is enabled on the UTM.

Any assistance in troubleshooting this problem would be appreciated.

Thank you!

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hi, Kang Soh, and welcome to the UTM Community!

I haven't tried the following, but I think it might work.  Assuming the Remote device is signed into PPTP as "NAS,"

1. On the Internal Interface, define an Additional Address "NAS Device" as a /32 
    2. Create a NAT rule with automatic firewall rules:
      • DNAT : Any -> Any -> Internal [NAS Device] (Address) : to NAS (User Network)