This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

RADIUS Authentication w/ Microsoft NPS- Starter Connection Request Policy?

Hi all!

Background:

I'm looking at Sophos UTM 9 as a remote access (SSL) VPN server w/ RADIUS authentication. The RADIUS server is Windows Server 2016 running NPS. I've added NPS as an authentication server in WebAdmin and test server settings passes.

However, authenticate example user fails. Looking at the Windows NPS logs, each example user attempt results in an error code 49- incorrect Connection Request policy.

Question:

Is there a bare-bones Connection Request policy out there to test with? I'm new to RADIUS and Sophos' documentation was less than helpful (could be my skill level though, too).

Thank you in advance!

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hi Andrew and welcome to the UTM Community!

No need to use RADIUS - take a look at Configuring HTTP/S proxy access with AD SSO.  Although the article is aimed at Standard mode, 98% of it applies to Transparent mode, too.

Cheers - Bob

Sophos UTM Community Moderator
    Sophos Certified Architect - UTM
    Sophos Certified Engineer - XG
    Gold Solution Partner since 2005
    MediaSoft, Inc. USA
  • Hi Bob,

Thank you for your welcome and suggestion!

Unfortunately, proxy isn't what we're looking for. Was looking to leverage remote-access SSL VPN. But that's good to know when we look toward proxy.

Thanks,

Andrew

• SSL VPN Remote Access works like a charm with AD.  Just create a Security Group in AD named, e.g., "SSL VPN", assign members to it and use that Group in a limited Backend Group in 'Users and Groups' in an SSL VPN Profile.  You'll also want to drag that group into 'Groups' in 'Prefetch Directory Users' on the 'Advanced' tab of 'Definitions & Users >> Authentication Services'.

Cheers - Bob
    PS Moving this thread to the VPN forum.

MediaSoft, Inc. USA