This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Setting up SUM

Hi,

I am new to Sophos and Firewalls in general. I am trying to set up SUM so that i can see all of our UTM's. I have gone to Central Management under the UTM and enabled SUM. It sees the SUM server, however I am getting the following message:  SUM SSL-connect: 'IO::Socket::INET6 configuration failed'. I am a little inexperienced but could someone point me in the right way?

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hi, Brandon, and welcome to the UTM Community!

Try a google on site:community.sophos.com/products/unified-threat-management "IO::Socket::INET6 configuration failed".

Cheers - Bob

Sophos UTM Community Moderator
    Sophos Certified Architect - UTM
    Sophos Certified Engineer - XG
    Gold Solution Partner since 2005
    MediaSoft, Inc. USA
  • Not to be negative but I gave SUM a spin and in my opinion it was completely useless - at least for me. I am running my UTM 9s on AWS (external load balanced to UTMs; WAF to ELB to App Servers) and was hoping that SUM would provide centralised management. In other words, make one change on the SUM or a master firewall and have the changes replicate to my other 4 UTMs. That was not the case. 

I have yet to find or be able to procure any competent Sophos support so I could be wrong - take my comments with a huge grain of salt. :(

• This error is usually caused by not have ports 4444, 4433 & 4422 open on a firewall between the SUM and the UTMS - the UTMs need to be able to see the SUM on those ports - if those ports are blocked the two cant talk to each other.

Cheers

Chris Rose

Doncaster UK

Currently running 50  - SG310s, SG330s & SG450 UTM's at remote sites via the Sophos SUM

Currently sandboxing upgrading the hardware on a SG330 to the new SX330 software