This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Is this a sensible QoS to prevent any one user from eating all the bandwidth?

Sorry if the following question is a bit too basic... I'm new to QoS in general (not only in UTM).

We have a rather slow symmetrical internet connection at the office: 30/30 Mbit. I've created the following QoS setup on our UTM:

- enabled QoS on the LAN interface with default speed limit (1000) and disabled all the options (limit uplink, downlink, optimization)
- enabled QoS on the WAN interface with limit of 30/30 and enabled all the options
- I've created two traffic selectors: one for all traffic coming from ANY using ANY service to our LAN network, and one for all traffic coming from ANY using Web browsing protocols to our LAN network
- I've created two download throttling rules: first using the web browsing traffic selector with a limit of 20480 kbit/s (shared) and the second using the generic incoming traffic selector with a limit of 25600 kbit/s (shared once again)

From what I saw, HTTP and HTTPS traffic is the bulk of our internet usage. My question: is the above a sensible initial configuration to ensure that no one will "eat up" all the bandwidth?

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents Reply
  • I've already read that article. It's very basic and I feel it describes more how to navigate the UI and what is required to get any QOS rules actually working (the example shows an ANY-ANY-ANY setting). I'd like to know if, given the low speed of our network the settings I've made make sense.

Also, one thing that baffles me a bit is... what if you want to have different QoS rules for different interfaces?

Children
  • Mateusz, is your only requirement to "prevent any one user from eating all the bandwidth?"  Please show us Edits of your Traffic Selectors, Bandwidth Pools and Download Throttling rules.