This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

XBox Live Access and Multiplayer Gaming (Overwatch, etc.)

I am posting this question...and the answer I found...here in this forum in the hopes that it will help others who may encounter the same issues.  I'm still new to the world of UTMs, so if I've misstated/misunderstood anything, or any of the experts have anything additional to add, please feel free to chime in!

Originally when I set up my UTM, I had all kinds of trouble with my XBox One gaining access to XBox Live.  From my research here, and my familiarity with the XBox Live service and having to do port-forwarding with my modem/wifi-router, I quickly realized that I needed to do something similar with the UTM.  So:

• I established a group Network Services definition for "XBox Live" (under Definitions and Users), and included all of the ports needed for XBox Live (you can Google it to get the current list). 
  • I then set up an "allow" firewall rule for my XBox One and XBox 360 using "XBox Live" services (to any IP address).

However, my XBox continued to complain about slow traffic, and although I could reach the internet, I had no/slow access to multiplayer services.  Additional research led me to realize that:

• I needed to provide an exclusion in Intrusion Prevention for all XBox Live traffic. 

Intrusion Prevention includes what appears to be a set of powerful deep-scanning tools to analyze incoming traffic for trouble, but these measures can slow that traffic noticeably.  You can exclude trusted traffic in the Intrusion Prevention menu (there is an Exclusions tab).