This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Advanced configuration question (or attempt to replace WiFi with Sophos UTM?)

Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to the world of UTMs, and I stumbled upon them (and Sophos) because I'm trying to better secure my network, so I'm planning on buying a mini-box/network PC to install/run Sophos UTM on. I'm trying to perform country/region blocking, but I'd also like better overall security of my network--wifi included--because I have a home file server with various sensitive documents.

I asked a previous question regarding how the UTM was to be positioned on the network, and it appears that for my situation I have two possibilities (I had to do some adjusting to the spacing, so I hope this appears correctly!):

A) Incoming Internet (ISP Modem) ----> WiFi Router ----> Sophos UTM ----> File Server/Wired connections
                                                                                                    / | \
                                                                                      All wireless devices

With this configuration, only the router is open to the net. If it's hacked, then all the attacker gains is free internet access. ;-D However, I can't perform country/region blocking since the router is outside the UTM.

B) Incoming Internet (ISP Modem)----> Sophos UTM ----> WiFi Router
                                                                                                                                       /             \
                                                                                                All wireless devices         File Server/Wired connections