This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Web Filtering vs Firewall rules for allowed internet access

I'm new to UTM and struggling to get some basic filtering rules set up. I have no idea at this point if I'm supposed to be using web filtering or firewall rules, or if this is a separate (possible related) DNS issue. 

I have several servers on a network behind a UTM9 device that I do not want accessing the internet, with the exception of a few services, such as Windows Update or Crashplan. So far, I have crashplan working, using a firewall rule to allow HTTP/S from said servers to crashplan IPs (and DNS Host records). 

I'm trying to do the same for Windows Updates, and struggling miserably. According to the logs, I see lots of :80 and :443 requests, but I have a FW rule allowing all the suggested windows updates DNS hosts from the servers, but still nothing. Most of the dropped packets are trying to reach Amazon and Google, from what I can tell. Upon further research, it seems I should be doing this via Web Filters, but I have no idea how to do this, is this the incorrect application?

Thanks...

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • I'll move this to the Network Protection forum, Aaron.  Please show us several representative lines from the Firewall log file that show the blocks you're seeing.  Use the CentralOps.net Domain Dossier to find what domains those represent.  Tell us specifically what update each line represents.

Cheers - Bob

Sophos UTM Community Moderator
    Sophos Certified Architect - UTM
    Sophos Certified Engineer - XG
    Gold Solution Partner since 2005
    MediaSoft, Inc. USA