This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Configure Sophos SG 135 (UTM 9) to allow Microsoft Routing and Remote Access Service (Microsoft RRAS)

Hi Everyone,

I have question on Sophos firewall and I am new to Sophos appliances. 

Question/I need to --->

Configure Sophos SG 135 (UTM 9) to allow Microsoft Routing and Remote Access Service (Microsoft RRAS).

Customer requirement --->

Microsoft RRAS and Direct Access have to be used and allowed to all remote users. Firewall or 3rd party VPN isn't an option.

Issue --->

1. When I add all standard rules: Firewall, Network, NAT - it doesn't work. (btw identical type devices from Cisco, Checkpoint, PaloAlto and even SonicWALL work without issues).

2. There is no guide or best practice document on how to configure RRAS with Sophos, or at list I can't find one.

Errors in the log --->

1. I can't see anything in Sophos Firewall Logs. Logs, literally, have nothing logged against any of the IP's: internal RRAS and external clients. No Drops or Success, literally nothing.

2. Windows Server 2016 RRAS report that client connection accepted but tunnel cannot be established as there is GRE 47 issue. (A connection between the VPN server and the VPN client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx-external-IP has been established, but the VPN connection cannot be completed. The most common cause for this is that a firewall or router between the VPN server and the VPN client is not configured to allow Generic Routing Encapsulation (GRE) packets (protocol 47).)

Firewall Configuration --->

and 

and

P.S. Identical approach with DNAT rule & Firewall rule for Terminal Services works fine without any issue. Not sure why RRAS is different.

P.S.S. WAN is configured as PPPoE. Router a front of the appliance is set in Bridge Mode

P.S.S.S Firmware version - 9.411-3

Regards,

Kon

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hello Kon,