This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Some specific question regarding articles - Sophos UTM: Best practices for DNS Configuration, and Full NAT questions

Hi,

I apologize up front for what may be terribly obvious to you who have been doing this stuff for some time, or have been in the business for a while. I am an old engineer in a new world and I am having to hit the ground running as I have other things to do like get my +certs and CCNA finished up. At least this all helps my learning experience, but I would rather be studying for tests right now. I would appreciate any help/advice/guidance offered by the community.

I am pretty excited because I just set up my UTM home box (PC based for SOHO and home network). I did the basic install wizard and it has the (3)  basic installed firewall rules; DNS, Email, and Web Surfing. My network is kind of complicated with many different hosts and devices so as you can imagine, immediately after, family members were notifying me of connection issues. The playstation won't connect, my PC wont get to battle.net the ROKU and Fire, etc. So of course I start reading and find Bob's Rulz which are helpful but just a little over my head UTM wise in a couple areas. Enough so that when I read them it was enlightening but also created more questions too.

I have looked and looked for a real "beginners (or idiots as it were) guide" to working with the UTM complete with what if's and example "how to's" but I can't seem to find one anywhere on the forum. Just snippets of info spread out all over the place. Hopefully I missed it and someone can point me in the right direction. It seems that when I search for a specific issue I am having, there are a plethora of answers but most lead only to some answers and more confusion. I am surely willing to learn this stuff if I can get my hands on some meaty learning material