This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

How should I set up UTM for dhcp to fixed ip devices

My first post on this Community so I hope I am in the right place.  Please forgive me and tell me where I should post if I am in wrong place.  I am not a network engineer so at bottom of learning curve.

I have subnets created on sg135 UTM with DHCP on the device.  I have excluded the first 20 addresses of the subnet because a number of the devices on the subnet use fixed IPs.  I am having trouble with DNS on these devices and think my configuration is not quite correct.  How should I define the fixed IPs in the UTM so that these fixed IP devices to ensure dns is working.  I do not have a DNS on my client devices.

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Hi

A very warm welcome to the UTM forum! :-)

UTM DNS settings:

Firstly, I assume that you are using UTM as your DNS forwarder, similar to what's shown below (either that, or you have simply ticked that 'Use forwarders assigned by ISP' box and have no hosts listed in the DNS forwarders field).

Firstly, lets look DHCP served devices with MAC IP binding set in UTM:

I now only use DHCP for the devices on my network, however, for anything other than devices on my guest network, I use MAC/IP bound addresses for absolutely everything else and these are set by adding host entries in UTM's 'Network Definitions' list (as shown below screenshot, with the details of the printer one being expanded to show its contents).

Incidentally, I set all of my MAC/IP bound addresses to reside outside of the DHCP pools, leaving the pools only for unbound DHCP devices, temporarily visiting these subnets (so I only require a very small pool of addresses on each subnet).

Now lets look at static addresses set up in the devices, themselves: