This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

DHCP issues on External Interface with ISP

I have been using UTM for many years now... 6+?  When I first started, there were issues with certain Intel nics when used with DHCP and Cable Modems.

Lately, I have been having problems again.  I have had MANY calls with my ISP, I even went ahead and bought new hardware for my UTM.  Same problem.  I rarely get an IP address from my ISP and when I do, the external interface will only stay "up" for a brief period - and then drop again.

I plugged my "Gateway desktop" directly into my Cable Modem and it ran without an issue for 3 days.  Then I added an ASUS RT-N66 in as a "router".  That ran fine for a week - with A LOT of traffic going through it. 

I add the UTM and BAM!  I am back down again.

My question is - WHERE do I begin to troubleshoot this?  confd logs?  TCPDUMP?  My UTM seems happy to get a DCHP address from my ASUS if I test it that way...  I don't want to bail on Sophos, but I don't know what else to do.  Many years ago, I put an old router between my Cable Modem and my Sophos machine.  I really don't want to do that again.

UTM 9.355-1       

External NIC is an Intel Gigabit PCIe   EXPI9301CT

Quad core i3 with 4GB RAM, 160 GB HDD

Thoughts?  Advice, Similar issues?

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Seems to be the same issue I'm facing with a Netgear LTE modem LB1110 in bridge mode, I have to manually renew the DHCP lease or reset the interface.  After the first lease period expires the interface fails.

The purpose of this configuration is for DynDNS to work for VPN connections, which works great apart from the issue of DHCP renewal failing.