This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Curious DNS name resolution problem

Hi,

I'm experiencing a really odd situation with my Sophos XG Home.

When I try to resolve google.com it resolves to 123.123.12.123

Which is owned by China Unicom Beijing province network.

When it's resolving to this, I'm unable to access Google services.

I've my Sophos XG DNS forwarders to (I'm not using my ISP DNS):

I have a samba server running inside my network, when I resolve against this, I resolve to a "normal" Google address and I can access Google services again.

My samba server is using just a single DNS forwarder:

I'm also seeing a couple of service providers referencing this IP address in their documentation:

https://fastdot.com.au/mydns-manager/

https://kinsta.com/knowledgebase/how-to-use-sftp/

Even a Google Patents page:

https://patents.google.com/patent/WO2004006112A1/en

So, I'm really confused as to why this is happening. It's like there's a static entry somewhere in the Sophos XG that redirects name resolution to 123.123.12.123, or the upstream name servers are "doing something" to return 123.123.12.123 instead.

Has anyone seen anything like this? Or am I just being unlucky and/or paranoid?

Cheers,

Paul

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Hi Paul,

are you located in China? Today DNS can be used as a common term for different technologies. I don’t know but is your samba server using classic DNS at port 53 or maybe DNS over TLS ? I don’t know exactly how such redirects are done in some countries but normal DNS could be altered I think. Possible with a DNAT one could do that by yourself for your network.

Best regards 

Alex 

-

• Hi Paul,