This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

AP55C and UTM 9.4 (Home licensed)

Not sure if I'm missing something here.  I have a newly installed AP 55C and new UTM 9.4 Home.  The AP was seen by the UTM and is serving up the SSIDs that I want it to.  The only issue is when I connect to the AP, a lot of things are blocked, even though I've got the wireless protection wide open and blocking nothing.

As simple as browsing Facebook, the first post on my wall shows partially, the FB background stuff shows, no other posts.  When I switch back to my old/regular WAP, then all browsing is fine.

I had really high hopes for this, but I'm afraid I may have to return the AP55C and decommission the UTM for something else.

Any thoughts on why it may be blocking things like this?

I am pretty technically competent (I'm an IT SysAdmin) but have never used the Sophos environment before so don't know if I'm missing something obvious.

Thanks for any help or advice!

d

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Hi,

can you check that DNS is working properly? It might be that you've cached the main Facebook page on your computer but every resolution of the CDNs behind it fail. Please check various domains.

Please also check whether you can reach the internet at all (e.g. 8.8.8.8 , a google DNS server) .

Have you configured a NAT firewall rule between the different networks?

Kind regards,

Dirk Bolte

• Hi Dirk,

Thanks for getting back to me.

Yes, DNS is working properly.  And it's fair to say that FB is just an example.  I can browse plenty of places, just not all, and really only some.  And it's not that FB never works, It will load some new posts, then show placeholders for other posts.  It really acts like something is being filtered.

There are two outbound NAT rules, they are:

Internal (LAN) (Network) --> External (WAN)