I am confused with Sophos Central Endpoint Protection Licensing

Hi Community,

I'm new to Sophos, so please do excuse me if I sound like a complete amateur.

I've been trying to understand how the Sophos Central licensing works and I can't seem to understand it. I currently have the Sophos Central trial installed and when I choose "protect devices" and "choose components", the options I'm given are "Sophos Intercept X Advanced with EDR" and "Device Encryption", but when I go through licensing guides, there's "Central endpoint standard", "central endpoint advanced", "central endpoint Intercept X".

I'm so confused, is it possible to split EDR from Intercept X? and how do I choose whether I install "standard" or "advanced". Is there a guide that can help me through this?

  • Hi  

    While downloading the installer, you are provided with the option if you want to choose a complete installer or only specific components while downloading the installer that is Device encryption or Sophos Intercept X. Please check this datasheet which will provide the information about the features included in your license. The Intercept X with EDR  and Intercept X Advanced for Server with EDR license provides an option to search for potential threats on your network via Threat Searches. If you want, you can disable the EDR data feed, please check this article for the same. Let me know if this helps. 

  • In reply to Shweta:

    Hi, thanks Shweta. Thank you for the reply. Helped!

  • In reply to cpjrackham:


    Glad to know that it helped. Feel free to reach out to us for any further concerns.