This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Deleting AD Computers, what if they are brought back?

Hi

This question may be a bit long winded as I'm new to the team and I haven't used much of Sophos products before so sorry if these questions come across a bit soft.

I've been tasked with going through Sophos Enterprise Console and trying to get the "unmanaged" amount of machines down to a nice number. Obviously most of these are desktops,laptops that haven't been on the network for months so with the desktops I have been deleting the AD client then purging so it clears them out.

With our laptops though these are encrypted by Safeguard to encrypt the C drive. What I can make out from staff is that if for example I delete a laptop from the enterprise console that hasn't been logged on for months so presumed decommissioned but suddenly it is powered back on as it was really just sitting in a drawer unused then because I've deleted it from the Enterprise Console we'd have an issue because it is encrypted by SafeGuard and then Enterprise Console can't find it from AD any more so trying to use the laptop is a problem. 

This is a scenario put forward by my colleague he says he ran in to before so I was wondering, is there a way to export the settings (key) from Safeguard for a specific laptop and keep it so if it was ever to be powered back on and tried to be re-introduced to the network I can import that back in.

I'm not even sure if that makes sense what I'm asking because I haven't had the scenario happen to me yet. Please excuse my ignorance on the whole thing but any information would be helpful

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Hello David Melia,

this sounds like you are talking about the (now withdrawn and retired) Encryption component in Enterprise Security and Control, is this correct?

Christian

• Yes I believe so.