This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Windows 10 - Boot Volume Not Encrypting

Hey Folks,

I am new to SafeGuard so please... be gentle [;)]

So I have my server up, running, and functioning.  My test client is pulling policies and reporting back to the server.  It's encrypted the non-boot volume (there are 2 volumes on this drive, 1 for the OS, and 1 for Data for easy OS wiping), but it simply will NOT encrypt the OS drive.  I have been playing with this all day, messing with bitlocker group policies, client installation, and SafeGuard policies.  I am SURE I'm missing something simple, but im not sure what it is.  

Troubleshooting Steps

• Uninstallereinstalled client (including pre-reqs) and reinstalled
  • Fiddled with policies and group policies
  • Rebuilt my test server

Sophos Server :

• Windows Server 2012 R2
  • SQL Server 2014
  • Sophos Server and Management Center 7

Sophos Client : 

• Windows 10 build 1511
  • Sophos Client 7.02

Here's the Bitlocker GP Settings : 

Here's the Boot Volume Policy : 

Here's the Non-Boot Volume Policy : 

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • FormerMember
    0 FormerMember

Hello Ricko,

Looks like you're almost there, I suspect you're right in saying it's probably just something simple.

As it's just the boot volume that's not encrypting (and that has the same policy settings as your secondary drive), I would look at the following first:

Is BitLocker enabled for the Boot Volume?

Right click Start > Control Panel > System and Security > BitLocker Drive Encryption > Make sure BitLocker is enabled for the C:\ drive too.

Is the Boot Volume ready to be encrypted?