This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Pre Boot PIN Windows 10 - How do i force it to appear

Hi Michael has helped a lot with my understanding of this but last question or two..

So I was confused and thought POA was the pre boot authentication on Win10 but that's wrong ...  When I install safeguard on Win 10 PC's Most of them appear to have TPM.  

As a result they are not asking for pre boot pin? I am assuming this is down to TPM.

But i have all the default policiies and in them in my list PIN is the second policy, and it's set to a minimum amount of characters, but that's it... BUT, no device which has TPM seems to be asking the users to add a PIN.

So do I need to create / enable a windows Group Policy to enable it? I've never used AD before this so i'm a bit confused i'm not sure if I need to make a new policy in the sophos console or if I need to go into AD and create a Policy for all win 10 devices saying they need a pre boot PIN?

Where do i force the PC's to use a Pre boot PIN.  Which I know should be a series of numbers as it's a PIN not a Number :) 

I also realise it doesn't really give much if anything in the way of extra security but our company would like it.

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hi Steph - Sorry to hear you're still having problems! It'll be worth it when it's all set up and running nicely!

I have known Sophos to sometimes not overwrite a policy when there's one set already. Like a TPM PIN policy being enforced but client already is secured by TPM only and no PIN.

If we're talking about a handful of machines then you could try forcing a PIN policy locally on the machine.

You could do this by (on the client) launching an ADMIN cmd prompt.

manage-bde -protectors -add -TPMAndPIN c: 

This will remove the TPM only policy, and replace it with TPM AND PIN.