This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Installed App and OS updates

15th July 2019

Hi,

I'm new to Sophos Mobile Central. I have about 20 mobiles that I want to manage. Most will be managed as Owner Device, but there will be a few where it is BYOD. My question is how are app updates and OS updates carried out? 

So, for example, If Samsung were pushing down a OS update, would the user still get notification and get applied or would I need to do this from Sophos Central?

What about app updates, EG if there was an update to Chrome Browser, would I need to push that down to all devices manually?

If there is a KB that someone could point me through to that would be great.

Kindest Regards

Dave S. Chunilal

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Hi  

You can allow/block OTA updates for Android devices by creating an Android device profile and setting up restrictions. More on it here.

Android Enterprise Device Policy can give you more control regarding system update like postponing the update or install within the maintenance window. With the help of Android Enterprise Device Policy, you can select the option to allow managing apps where users will not be able to perform the following tasks for apps: Uninstall apps, Disable apps
    Stop apps, Clear app cache, Clear app data, and Clear setting Open by default. More on it here

Thanks,
    Yashraj Singha
    Manager | Global Community Support
    Are you a Sophos Partner? | Product Documentation | @SophosSupport | Sign up for SMS Alerts
    If a post solves your question, please use the "Verify Answer" button.
    The New Home of Sophos Support Videos!  Visit Sophos Techvids
  • Hi Yashraj,

Thanks for the response.