This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Android 7.0 = Nougat?, and, Sophos XG Firewall available for Andoid 7.0?

Hey all ... I'm a newb here ... I joined SophosID back in AUG 2015, however, only recently did I acquire a Samsung Galaxy S7 edge smartphone (I was on a BB Tour 9630 [OS 5.0.0.519] since 2009 and would have been happy to continue with it [they're indestructible!], however TELUS Mobility turned off their CDMA 1xEVDO network < 0810PDT on 20JUN17) and develop the need to learn more about Android ... so here I am!

FYI - I've been getting the Sophos Naked Security newsletter since at least 28SEP11 and rely on the info therein to make informed decisions about certain IT matters ...

... not lost on me was the high incidence of articles about Android devices and their exposure to attack ... hence the decision to install 'Sophos Mobile Security 7.0.2288 (15)' on my new phone right away was an easy one ... BTW, is this the same app as 'Free Antivirus and Security' available at Google Play?

So, first things first ... based on my phones' Settings > About device > Software information (nowhere do I see mention of 'Nougat'), I have:

Android version: 7.0

Baseband version: G935W8VLS2BQF1

Kernel version: 3.18.14-11422779, dpi@SWHE8801 #1, Thu Jun 1 19:35:14 KST 2017

Build number: NRD90M.G935W8VLS2BQF1

FYI - this phone was delivered to me back in mid-January, 2017 (but not activated) and I noted that upon activation on 21JUN17, this S7 edge went through some pretty dramatic s/w, f/w & more s/w upgrades right out of the gate ... I have since read in various places online that perhaps I will not be happy with some aspects of the latest update(s) ... and may want to roll them back - is this possible?  Or too problematic?