This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Help I cannot upgrade

Okay I am a Domain Admin I am trying to upgrade to 5.5.0 first I didn't have permission fixed that issue ...sorta

then the db needed upgraded... fine updated mssql ... no more updates found

ran the installer DB needs upgraded ok so I scour the web ... nothing except build the db by hand ... really by hand? ... really?

start running the cmds

don't have permission ... made myself the OWNER of every db in the system

try again still don't have permission

I have spent all day trying to upgrade this junk because my renewed license wont work and my stuff is "off" because I cant get this system to upgrade

simplifying security... what a joke this is by far the most complex upgrade I have ever seen even SharePoint upgrades easier than this why am I messing with the db anyway this isn't smart or simple but as I am out of ideas any suggestions would be greatly appreciated thanks

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • When you are getting the message about the database needing to be upgraded first I assume it's this message:
    https://community.sophos.com/kb/en-us/113945#ServerUpgradeChecks

Is that correct?

This isn't about the SQL instance version but more about the Database component of the SEC installation.  

You have 3 main components to a SEC install: The Database, the Management Console and the Management services.

I assume that all components are on the same computer so you have a compact installation where all 3 roles should be installed locally.  If you look in Programs and Features you should see the 3 components, Console+Database+Management Server.  

If you don't have the Sophos Database component despite having a local database this could be the problem during the upgrade.