This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Firewall Log Viewer (svchost.exe UPD)

Hi all, could someone shed some light on this please.. I am very new to the firewall log viewer and have looked at it from the client for the first time. I am worried to see a lot of these items

Application=svchost.exe

Direction = IN REFUSED

Protocol = UDP

Remote Port = Loads of different ones (Small list as an example - 59199, 56452, 50062, 57205, 62745)

Remote Address = (Lots of IP addresses from within our internal network)

Hope someone can help with this please? Thanks, John

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
Parents
  • Hello John Cassell,

what's the local (i.e. destination) port? Source ports are most of the arbitrary ports.
    Nowadays networks are quite noisy, all kinds of discovery attempts, UPnP, Bonjour, printers, media protocols, you name it. The traffic is very likely "normal" but OTOH not essential for normal operation.

Christian

• Hi Christian, thanks for the reply. Didn't realise there were some hidden columns such as local port. I've added it now and here are a few examples:

Application     Direction        Protocol   Remote Address                    Remote Port - Local Port

scvhost.exe - IN REFUSED - UDP -      'An IP Address on our LAN' -   33572 -          1900

svchost.exe - IN REFUSED - UDP -     'An IP Address on our LAN'  -   60574            1900

svchost.exe - IN REFUSED - UDP -     'An IP Address on our LAN'  -   49397            5355

system        - IN REFUSED - UDP -     'An IP Address on our LAN'  -   17500            17500