This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

How to allow checkpoint SSL extender

Hi all

I'm new to Sophos, so my apologies if the solution is blatantly obvious!

I have a technician who is required to connect to a Checkpoint extender client to remotely access clients. The process he follows is:

Connects to a website which checks his system for compatibility (looks for java, etc)

Once passed, it will then install, in his temp folder, the Checkpoint SSL Network Extender (STAProxy.exe) and runs it so the technician can then remote into the client.

Sophos is somehow stopping the extender from running, though it allows the actual client to download to the temp folder.  To allow it to work, I must disable the Web Control and the AV Web Protection options ("Block access to malicious sites" and "Content Scanning" must be off). 

NOTE: I am not using the network protection module. 

I have added exceptions in the AV Authorisations to the site, the staproxy.exe, the dll, and the folder but this does not help. I've also changed my Web COntrol settings to warn, instead of block, and it didn't help.

The Anti-virus log file on the client does not show anything so I don't know how it is being blocked, and I've set the logging to verbose.

I found an article on the checkpoint site detailing that I need to "Add an exception for localhost TCP port 7777 on the Sophos Antivirus Web Monitor." But I can't seem to find a way to do this in the web monitor settings on the management console.

Oddly enough, if I manually run the staproxy.exe from the temp folder then go back to the web-page and initiate the connection, it works. It's the automated workflow of pressing the connection button on the webpage that is somehow being stopped.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Checkpoint article link

supportcenter.checkpoint.com/.../portal