This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

"High Risk Website Blocked" - Mal/HTMLGen-A has been found on this website

I am a website developer and one of my websites is being tagged as a high risk website by Sophos Anti-Virus.  The URL is www.consultanttraining.com.au. I did a test on www.virustotal.com and Sophos is returing a "Malicious site" result. This is a very simple website and absolutely nothing malicious has been installed on it.  My web host company has tested the server at their end and cannot find any problems. I tested the website on Google Webmaster tools and nothing negative resulted. I tested the site on checkwebsitesafe.net and the result was 100% positive.  Can you please advise why your software is having a problem with this website and what code is resulting in the website being seen as a problem? Thanks so much for your assistance.

:38507

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hello ramsydney,

many of the threads you get when searching for Mal/HTMLGen-A on this board are about the same situation, please see for example this thread.. I know I mention this in vain though ...

Anyway, the answer is always the same: Please contact, or better - have your host company contact Support directly, they will look into the issue and should be able to tell the reason for the classification and to initiate a re-classification of the site IP. It's likely one of the other sites hosted on the server which triggered the detection.

Christian

:38521
  • Sophos doing more harm than good with policies to block everything even if it does not conatin a virus.  Sounds to me like politics is in mix with sophos bottom line.  Sophos - Not just anti-virus but we tell you what you can look at!

:40281
  • We have this same message for www.engineeringexcellenceawards.com

The IP address is not blocked.  So no problem there.