This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

Error: "The on-access driver could not check device control for volume \Device\CdRom0."

I receive the following error in my Enterprise Console regarding one of my Win-7 desktops:

Date/time     Code     Description      
9/24/2012 3:52:40 PM     e03d0301     

The on-access driver could not check device control for volume \Device\CdRom0.     

The link to the error does not provide me with any information, just a patch update discussing some changes made to the error codes.

I believe this is related to the Anti-virus failing to scan the CD-ROM drive.  It seems to happen every time a Sophos policy update is pushed to (or pulled from) the desktop.  I am new to Sophos, so I am not sure if this is expected or not.  I could not find any references to this on the Internet or in this forum.

Has anyone got any advise on debugging this?  Is there another log that might provide a better explination?

:32877

This thread was automatically locked due to age.
  • Hello TEWhite,

is the drive working correctly (I assume it does exist) and do you use Device Control? I'd say this is not "expected" unless something's not working properly.

Christian

:32899
  • Christian:

Thanks for the response.  Yes, we are using Device Control (Read-Only access) on the CDROM drive, and yes it worked correctly prior to installing Sophos.  I should also have mentioned that we are using Enterprise Console 5.1.0.1839 and the client that was distributed with it.

I inserted a CDROM drive this morning to confirm it was still working and cleared the error in the Enterprise Console.  I had to wait 3 minutes for the drive to be available in Explorer, but once it showed up I could copy files from it.   It seemed to act normally once it was mounted and available in Explorer.  I ejected the disk, and it again took 3 minutes to show up in Explorer.