This article explains why you will see either “User could not be edited", "User could not be added" and/or "Role members could not be saved" pop up when trying to change a User's role.
When trying to change a default user account into one that requires a login (such as Read only, HelpDesk, Admin, or Super Admin). you are expected to receive either of warnings listed in this article, when the email address you are entering is already in use with a different Central Dashboard. Note that Sophos Central only allows the use of an email address within one Central Dashboard at a time.
Applies to the following Sophos products and versions Sophos Central Admin
If you've spotted an error or would like to provide feedback on this article, please use the section below to rate and comment on the article. This is invaluable to us to ensure that we continually strive to give our customers the best information possible.
Every comment submitted here is read (by a human) but we do not reply to specific technical questions. For technical support post a question to the community. Or click here for new feature/product improvements. Alternatively for paid/licensed products open a support ticket.