This article explains how to perform a factory reset via the command-line.
Known to apply to the following Sophos product(s) and version(s) Sophos UTM
The factory reset function resets the device back to the default configuration. The following data will be reset:
The version number of Sophos UTM software will remain the same, that is, all firmware and pattern updates that have been installed will be retained.
To run the factory reset via command-line, proceed as follows:
The system will automatically shutdown when it's finished.
Note: steps 3-5 can also be performed via a single command: cc system_factory_reset
You can also run a factory reset for your UTM via the WebAdmin. Proceed as follows:
The Sophos UTM will shut down after the factory reset is complete.
Every comment submitted here is read (by a human) but we do not reply to specific technical questions. If you need technical support please post a question to our community. Alternatively for licensed products open a support ticket.