Product SafeGuard LAN Crypt Client v.3.7x and above Client OS All supported operating systems Question How does SafeGuard LANCrypt handle the deleting of encrypted files? Answer If your encryption profile is loaded, you can delete any encrypted file for which you own the key. NOTE: In fact, deleting files is moving them to the Windows Recycle Bin. To provide the highest security level, files encrypted by SafeGuard LAN Crypt remain encrypted in the Recycle Bin. To finally delete files, the key used for encrypting the files has to be available in the active profile. If the key is not available, an error message will be displayed and you cannot remove the files from your system. There may be situations where encryption rules have been modified after a file was moved to the Recycle Bin. In this case, the old key has to be available in the active profile to finally delete this file. If encrypted files are moved to the Recycle Bin and the user logs off afterwards and accesses one of these files in the Recycle Bin, these files cannot be restored any more.
Every comment submitted here is read (by a human) but we do not reply to specific technical questions. If you need technical support please post a question to our community. Alternatively for licensed products open a support ticket.